Prevention of torture: UN human rights body presents confidential preliminary observations after its first regular visit to Kyrgyzstan

Bishkek, 28 September 2012 – The United Nations Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture (SPT) presented today its confidential preliminary observations to the Kyrgyz authorities, in conclusion of its first regular visit to the country, which took place from 19 to 28 September 2012. During the visit, the SPT met with the relevant Kyrgyz authorities and representatives of civil society, and conducted visits to a number of places of deprivation of liberty (see attached list), including temporary and pre-trial detention facilities, prisons, juvenile detention centres and psychiatric institutions in the cities of Bishkek and Osh and in the Provinces of Chuy, Osh and Jalal-Abad.

“We hope that our visit to Kyrgyzstan will contribute to the on-going efforts of the Kyrgyz authorities and other stakeholders to ensure that persons deprived of their liberty are not put at risk of torture and ill-treatment”, stated Mr. Arman Danielyan, Head of the SPT Delegation to Kyrgyzstan.

The SPT was established pursuant to the provisions of the Optional Protocol of the Convention against Torture (OPCAT) which was ratified by the Kyrgyz Republic in 2008. The SPT mandate permits it to conduct in-situ visits and make recommendations to the authorities to establish effective safeguards against the risk of torture and ill-treatment in places of deprivation of liberty. The SPT mandate is mirrored at the national level by a National Preventive Mechanism (NPM).

The law creating a NPM in Kyrgyzstan was adopted by the Kyrgyz Parliament on 7 June 2012 and signed by the President on 12 July 2012. As a result, the National Centre for the Prevention of Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman and Degrading Treatment should be operational in a couple of weeks. "The establishment of an impartial and independent NPM in Kyrgyzstan will be an opportunity to enhance and monitor the recommendations of this visit", noted Danielyan. “The SPT calls upon the government to allocate adequate funding so as to enable the effective execution of the NPM mandate”.

During the visit, the SPT had the opportunity to assess the treatment of persons deprived of their liberty in the Kyrgyz Republic, as well as the safeguards for their protection against torture and ill-treatment. The SPT conducted private and confidential interviews with persons deprived of their liberty in the institutions that were visited.

In accordance with the provisions of the Optional Protocol, the SPT will send its final report confidentially to the Kyrgyz Government, and hopes to continue its constructive dialogue with the authorities. The SPT encourages the State party to request the publication of the report, as provided under the Optional Protocol. This would allow the State party to apply for financial support for the implementation of the SPT recommendations by the Special Fund established for such purposes under Article 26 of the OPCAT.

The SPT Delegation to Kyrgyzstan was composed of the following members: Mr. Arman DANIELYAN (Head of Delegation); Ms. Suzanne JABBOUR (Vice-Chair of the SPT); Mr. Goran KLEMENCIC; Mr. Christian PROSS and Mr. Felipe VILLAVICENCIO TERREROS.


For more information about the Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture:

Optional Protocol to the Convention against Torture and other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment:

* * * * * * * *
Places of deprivation of liberty visited by the SPT in Kyrgyzstan, 19 to 28 September 2012

I. Temporary detention places (“IVS”) and other places under Police

  • Reception Center of Internal Affairs Directorate in Bishkek.
  • Leninskiy District Police Station in Bishkek.
  • Sverdlovskiy Distric Police in Bishkek.
  • Sulaiman-Too Municipal Police Department in Osh.
  • IVS in the Police Department in Bishkek.
  • IVS in Osh.
  • IVS in Djalal-abad.
  • IVS in Kara-Suu.
  • IVS in Uzgen.

II. Pre-trial detention places (“SIZO”)

  • SIZO # 21 in Bishkek (referred to as “SIZO # 1” informally).
  • SIZO # 25 in Osh (referred to as “SIZO # 5” informally)

III. Detention places under the National Security Committee

  • SIZO of the National Security Committee in Bishkek.
  • SIZO of the National Security Committee in Osh.

IV. Correctional detention places (“colonies”)

  • Colony # 47 in Bishkek.
  • Colony # 10 in Djalal-abad.

V.Facilities for Children and Adolescents:

  • Colony # 14 for juveniles in Voznesenovskaya.
  • Centre for Isolation, Adaption and Rehabilitation of Juveniles in Bishkek.
  • Special School for Minors in Belovodsk.
  • Children’s psycho-neurological facility in Belovodosk.

VI. Medical facilities:

  • Chim-Korgon Psychiatric Hospital
  • Psycho-Neurological Center for the Disabled in Tokmoc.